Municipal Election

This page can be viewed in multiple languages: FrenchSpanishTagalog

The next municipal election will be held on Monday, October 18, 2021. 

Electors will be voting for one Mayor and six municipal councillors.  

Information for Candidates

Download our Candidates' Handbook to help you understand the requirements of the role and access information resources:
The Local Authorities Election Act (LAEA) governs elections for Alberta's local jurisdictions. All candidates should check the LAEA for complete details on the nomination process. 

The Government of Alberta has produced several Information Fact Sheets highlighting the recent changes to the Local Authorities Election Act, including information on Campaign Finance and Contribution Disclosure Amendments. Candidates are responsible for reviewing and following all provincial legislative requirements. 


Nomination forms must be filed with the Returning Officer between January 1, 2021 and September 20, 2021, at noon.

Nomination forms can be filed by regular mail at the address below, or in person. Please contact the Returning Officer to make an appointment for in-person filing. More information will become available as the pandemic restrictions change. 

Nominations by fax or email will not be accepted. 

Christine Nadon, Returning Officer
Office location: 303 Bonhomme Street (Jasper Activity Centre)

Mailing address:
Christine Nadon, Returning Officer
Municipality of Jasper
PO Box 520
Jasper, AB  T0E 1E0

Nomination Forms

All candidates must complete and submit the following forms:
The forms above are customized for the Municipality of Jasper for ease of use and completion. Provincial forms will also be accepted, and can be downloaded from the Government of Alberta website

Form 4 - Nomination Paper and Candidate's Acceptance

  • Candidates can only run for one "office", either as Mayor or Councillor. 
  • Form 4 must be signed by five (5) eligible electors of the Municipality of Jasper. 
  • Candidates must review the specified sections of the Local Authorities Election Act. 
  • This form must be signed by a Commissioner for Oaths or Notary Public for Alberta if you are sending them in the mail. If submitting in person, the Returning Officer or delegate can sign the form for you. 
Form 5 - Candidate Financial Information
  • Form 5 serves to document campaign financial information. You are required to complete this form even if you do not plan to accept campaign contributions (just leave the "if applicable" fields empty in that circumstance). 
  • Do not include any personal banking information; this form serves to document campaign accounts only. 
Please note that there is no ward system in the Municipality of Jasper, and that no deposit is required to file your nomination papers. 

Voter Information 

Information when/where to vote and voter identification requirements will be available closer to Election Day. 

Important dates 

  • Monday, January 4, 2021: First day of the nomination period
  • Monday, September 20, 2021: Last day to file nomination papers. Deadline is 12 p.m. (noon).
  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021: Deadline for candidates to withdraw nominations or change office. Deadline is 12 p.m. (noon).
  • Monday, October 18, 2021: Election Day. 

2017 Municipal Election

Official Election Results (PDF)